Caution: I Throw Things!

For the first time in two long years, on Sunday I turned the switch on my Potters wheel and started throwing. I’d prepared 4 wee balls of clay and had a 50% hit rate. First pot collapsed as I took it too thin and too far, second attempt, I threw a reasonable bowl and altered it off the wheel – ok, so it slipped coming off the wheel and decided, itself, to be oval, but it still looks nice. I shaped it slightly more to even it up and may make more alterations when it gets to leather hard to make it more deliberate. Third pot, I put my thumb through the base, and the fourth came off the wheel exactly the size and shape I hoped for and remained that way.

So, after two years, not too bad a result with just an hour’s work (with lots of faffing about before, during and after the actual throwing. I plan to get back into the studio tonight to trim and finish the leather hard pots and just potter about (pun intended). Just becuse I can. šŸ™‚

Mo brought her sketch pad in and, with the gorgeous view for inspiration, drew out a couple of tile designs. We both have so many ideas of things we want to try. We’ve had two years of planning time!

The workbench is actually a couple of Ikea trestles that we bought in 2005 and then didn’t have space for a bench so didn’t build them, so it was good to finally see them in position and being used for their proper purpose. When extended up to their full height, they made a good high level workbench. Just need a couple of stools now so that we don’t need to keep pinching the kitchen stools.

Freecycle, here we come!

Leave a Reply

